MINUTES STATE POLICE COMMISSION May 19, 2011

The State Police Commission convened its monthly meeting at 9:10 A.M. on Thursday, May 19, 2011 in Class Room 5, Building A, State Police Training Academy, 7901 Independence Boulevard, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Present were Chairman Mark Oxley, Co-Chairman Jason Turner, Members Joseph Cage, William Goldring, Freddie Pitcher Jr., Franklin Kyle, and William Norfolk, Attorney.

On motion duly made and seconded by unanimous vote of the Members present, the Commission voted to approve the Minutes from the April 21, 2010 meeting.

There were no employees present for the Employee Opportunity to Address the Commission.

The public hearing of the **Appeal of Jason LeMarca**, (Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police), Docket No. 10-196-S, was called. The Commission received testimony and evidence. At the conclusion of the hearing, the Commission took the matter under advisement, with a written decision to be forthcoming.

The public hearing of the **Appeal of Phillip Belone**, (Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police), Docket No. 10-195-S, was called. The Commission received testimony and evidence. At the conclusion of the hearing, the Commission took the matter under advisement, with a written decision to be forthcoming.

Under Commission Business, Director Cathy Derbonne stated that the 2011 Louisiana State Troopers Association Convention will be held July 29 – 31, 2011 at the Hilton in Shreveport. Chairman Mark Oxley urged all Members to consider attending, stating that the convention was an ideal way to meet the Troopers in an informal setting. The Commission will also make a presentation at the LSTA meeting held during the convention.

Promotional examinations, which were originally scheduled for May 18, 2011, were rescheduled due to the imminent flood conditions. The exams were rescheduled to June 20, 2011, with a make-up date of June 27, 2011.

At the Conclusion of the Commission's agenda, on motion duly made and seconded, by unanimous vote of the members present, the Commission voted to adjourn its meeting at 12:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Mark Oxley, Chairman

Cathy Derbonne, Executive Director